Course Assessment

1. Designing the Course Syllabus:
1.1- Process and Role: the reviewing and approving the course syllabus consists of six phases:
• The faculty member has to submit the first draft of the course syllabus three weeks before starting the semester to the Chairman of the concerned department and the   OQAA.
• The chainman and OQAA will review the first draft, using the appropriate checklist. This phase shouldn’t exceed one week.
• The OQAA will send the comments and suggestions to the faculty member in order to implement the needed modifications.
• The OQAA may invite an external reviewer if needed to review some specific courses syllabus.
• A session of discussion will be organized in order to share the course syllabus with the other faculty members and peer reviewers.
• The modified version should be submitted to the OQAA and the department chairman one week before starting the semester for final approval.
• No instructor could start classes without getting the approval of the syllabus from the OQAA.
Note: for the new faculty members, the OQAA has to conduct a workshop for this purpose.
1.2- Mechanism: The faculty members have to go through the following steps in designing the course syllabi:
• Check the international standards in teaching the assigned course in 3 to 5 international accredited universities. The standards may include the textbook used, number of chapters, assessment tools package, and course learning outcomes. The faculty member has to attach a teaching standards statement with the first draft of the syllabus.
• Use the Bloom’s Taxonomy as reference and the appropriate actions verbs.
• Use the guidelines for designing the course syllabus.
1.3- Changing the Course Syllabus: The faculty members may ask for change the course syllabus under the following conditions:
• The request to change the course syllabus should be submitted before starting the fifth week of teaching. Any request after the fifth week will be rejected.
• The allowed percentage of change shouldn’t exceed 10%.
• The suggested change shouldn’t affect the course leaning outcomes.
• After submitting the request to change the course syllabus using the official request form, the OQAA and the department chairman will review the request and make the necessary comments.
• A meeting will be hold between the course teacher and OQAA and the department chairman to approve or reject the modifications.
• If the modifications were approved, the course teacher has to submit a new version of syllabus to the OQAA and president office, as well as the library and Moodle.
1.4- KUST Official Templates: the following templates are available by request to be used by the faculty members:
• KUST’s Syllabus Template. (see the attachment)
• Self-assessment checklist. (see the attachment)
• Changing syllabus request form. (see the attachment)
2. Managing the Course Syllabus:
The Office of Quality Assurance and Accreditation (OQAA) will check the fulfillment of courses syllabi periodically by reviewing:
• Availability of hardcopy of materials in the course logbook in the Library and softcopy in Moodle,
• Covering materials according to the Study Plan.
• Status of achieving learning outcomes,
• Quality of Assessment tools in achieving learning outcomes
The main objective of this report is to remind the faculty member about the expected level of course performance and the existing status concerning the same item.
2.1- Availability of the Course Material: The OQAA is using the checking onsite methods to verify the availability of the course material; the whole process could be summarized as follow:
• The approved course syllabus is the first document used by the OQAA
• The course logbook in the library is verified periodically.
• The OQAA has access to all courses on Moodle, so the softcopy of all offered material should be available on Moodle.
The OQAA prepare a table, which summarize for the faculty member the missing material to be provided.
2.2- Covering materials according to the Study Plan: In addition to the availability of the course material in the library and on Moodle, the OQAA is verifying if the material was covered according to the study plan submitted in the course syllabus. The following indicators are used:
• The gap in covering the material
• The gap in assessment tools
2.3- Status of the Course Outcomes:
The OQAA is following the course learning outcomes theoretical achievement through the semester by using the CLOs Timeline. The CLO’s Timeline show the progress of achieving the course outcomes per month. The OQAA would like to clarify that covering an outcome doesn’t mean that the students got it, but that’s confirm that the instructor is following his syllabus according to the course learning outcomes.
2.4- Quality of Assessment Tools:
The OQAA is verifying if the assessment tools are fairly distributed between the course learning outcomes during the semester. For the existed assessment tools, the OQAA has checked each question in the assigned homework and tests and prepared this table in below to show the alignment between each assessment tool and the course learning outcomes.
The OQAA is using a coverage ratio of the assessment tools for each course learning outcomes. The statement will be used to:
• Attract the faculty intention to review the periodically the assessment tools package
• Help the reviewing of the midterm and final exam.
• Assure that by the end of the semester, all the course-learning outcomes were covered fairly and in realistic way.
2.5- Taking Actions Process: in case of discovering the following facts:
• A weak availability ratio of the course material.
• A gap in following the study plan and covering the material.
• A gap in the assessment tools.
• A bad distribution of the assessment tools between the CLOs.
– The OQAA has to send a letter of explanation to the faculty member to clarify and explain the discovered gaps.
– If the justifications couldn’t convince the OQAA point of view, or the faculty didn’t justify at all, the OQAA has to inform the President Office to take the appropriate action.
– A copy of the letters should be kept in the faculty folder.
3. Students’ Surveys and Performance:
The OQAA has to prepare four reports:
• Students’ Feedback Survey (SFS).
• Post Exam Survey (PES).
• Students’ Commitment Survey (SCS).
• Students’ Grades Analysis (SGA).
3.1- Students’ Feedback Survey (SFS):
• The OQAA has to conduct the SFS after the fourth instructional week and the fifteenth instructional week.
• The questions were selected to fulfill 3 areas;
1- Teaching Content (TC),
2- Teaching Methods (TM) and
3- Teaching Effect (TE)
• The students should check in four categories;
1- Strongly Agree (SA),
2- Agree (A),
3- Disagree (SD) and
4- Strongly Disagree (SDS)
• The Survey Monkey could be used to collect and analyzing the primary data.
• The analysis shows where the number of students and the participants in the survey are stated. Graphs are used to show three columns, corresponding to the three areas (TC, TM and TE) mentioned above, and in each area, it is shown the percentage of the four (SA, A, D, SDS) categories, respectively.
• OQAA has to organize a meeting with each instructor in order share the results, and discuss the pros/cons, so that a plan for improving will be discussed.
• An executive summary should be prepared for the President office.
• A copy of the individual reports should be kept in the President Office and the OQAA archive.
3.2- Post- Exam Survey:
• As part of its duties to spread the culture of quality improvement among faculty and students, the OQAA has to conduct a Post Mid-term Exam survey in order to allow the faculty members to know about the students’ feedback regarding his/her exam or test.
• The OQAA has structured the survey Questions as follow:
1. Exam Content (EC)
2. Students’ commitment toward exam requirements.
3. The exam environment.
• The OQAA has to report the first and second component of the exam survey to the instructor, for the third component, it will be reported to the exam committee for their review.
• The students should check in four categories;
5- Strongly Agree (SA),
6- Agree (A),
7- Disagree (D) and
8- Strongly Disagree (SDS)
• The survey has to be given to the students’ to fill up; the Survey Monkey could be used to collect and analyze the primary data and generate the needed reports.
• OQAA has to organize a meeting with each instructor in order share the results, and discuss the pros/cons, so that a plan for improving will be discussed.
• An executive summary should be prepared for the President office.
• A copy of the individual reports should be kept in the President Office and the OQAA archive.
3.2- Students’ Grades Analysis:
In order to check the students’ performance during the first term of the semester, the OQAA is assigned to analyze the students’ grades for the first term. The following procedures has to be followed:
• The faculty has to submit the first term-accumulated grades to the OSAR by the first week after the midterm exam.
• OSAR has to deliver the students’ grades to OQAA by the end of the first week after the midterm exam.
• The OQAA has to report an executive summary to the President Office by the end of the second week after the midterm exam.
• An individual report for each course should be prepared and kept in the OQAA archive.
• The OQAA used the concept of Benchmark GPA for each course; the Benchmark GPA means what is expected from the ideal student to get after getting a full mark for all the assessment tools.
• The OQAA has used the following indicators to analyze the students’ grades and expect the failure ratio:
1. Benchmark GPA for the first term of Fall 2013.
2. Student’s commitment ratio.
3. The midterm exam quality ratio.
4. Final Course Performance Report:
By the end of the semester, the OQAA has to prepare a final report for each course as follow:
• The report should be finalized by the end of the first two weeks after the new semester.
• A copy has to be delivered to the President Office and one to be kept in the OQAA Archive.
• The report should be shared with the faculty member and be available for the new course instructor.
• The report has to cover the following items:
1- Course position in the educational program.
2- General overview of the course portfolio management.
3- Syllabus fulfillment ratio
4- Assessment Tools effectiveness
5- Status of the course learning outcomes
6- SWOT Statement
7- Lesson learned and action plans.
4.1- Course position in the Educational Program: a short description about the course type and what was expected from the students to learn from it and the alignment with the program learning outcomes.
4.2- General overview of the course portfolio management: using the monthly reports, this section summarizes the overall attitude of managing the course portfolio during the semester.
4.3- Syllabus Fulfillment Ratio: this section will discuss if the instructor fulfilled all the chapters selected in the syllabus in the beginning of the semester. For that purpose, the following indicators will be calculated:
• Following study plan gap.
• Assessment tools gap.
• Learning outcomes gap.
The syllabus fulfillment ratio will be calculated as average of these gaps.
4.4- Assessment Tools effectiveness: this section will measure the effectiveness ratio of each assessment tool in assessing the course learning outcomes, the following indicators will be used:
• The Accumulated Coverage Ratio of assessment tools per CLO.
• The coverage ratio of each CLO per assessment tool.
4.5- SWOT Statement: This section will summarize the concluded Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats.
4.6- Lesson learned and action plans: This section will summarize the proposed action or recovery plans in order to bridge the gap through the curriculum.

Continuous Academic Development (CAD)

Faculty Portfolio (FP)

Faculty Assessment Result

                       Email      IP Phone  Room Number
President Office
      Salah Mohammed Aziz       salah.aziz@komar.edu.iq       101       E/258-A
      Aree Ali Muhammed       aree.ali@komar.edu.iq       108       E/256
      Jalal Ahmed Saeed       jalal.saeed@komar.edu.iq       147       E/102-A
      Twana Abdulrazaq Tahir       twana.abdulrazaq@komar.edu.iq       155       E/246
Civil Engineering Department
      Ako Rasheed Hama       ako.rashed@komar.edu.iq       167      E/ 236
      Sabah Saadi Fayaed       sabah.saadi@komar.edu.iq       164      E/ 235
      Sardasht Sardar Wely       sardasht.sardar@komar.edu.iq       169      E/ 231
      Kawa Ziedan Abdulrahman       kawa.zeidan@komar.edu.iq      E/215
      Zmnako Ali Awrahman       zmnako.awrahman@komar.edu.iq       172      E/232
      Yaseen Ahmed Hamaamin       yaseen.ahmed@komar.edu.iq       E/213
      Zeren Jamal Ghafour       zeren.jamal@komar.edu.iq       E/250
      Hemin Unis Ahmed       hemin.unis@komar.edu.iq       E/252
      Muzafar Fattah hama       mudhafar.hama@komar.edu.iq        E/239
      Alan Saeed Abdulrahman       alan.saeed@komar.edu.iq       E/241
      Younis Mustafa Ali       younis.alshkane@komar.edu.iq       E/217
      Brwa Hama Saeed       brwa.hamah-ali@komar.edu.iq       E/215
Petroleum Engineering Department
      Hamid Farangis Zadeh       hamid.zadeh@komar.edu.iq       174       E/244
      Hiwa H-Amin Sidiq       hiwa.sidiq@komar.edu.iq       173       E/241
      Muhammad Ali Buryo       muhammad.ali@komar.edu.iq       174       E/243
      Foad Muhammed Qadir       fouad.mohammed@komar.edu.iq       E/240
      Diyar Omer Kaka       diyar.omer@komar.edu.iq       E/252
      Hazhar Abdullah Rasul       hazhar.rasul@komar.edu.iq       E/235
      Karwan HamaFaraj Jwamer       karwan.hamafaraj@komar.edu.iq       E/230
      Zheno Kareem Ahmed       zheno.ahmed@komar.edu.iq       E/
      Meran Jalal Mohammed       miran.jalal@komar.edu.iq       E/251
      Peshawa Omer Amin       peshawa.omer@komar.edu.iq       E/243
      Dastan Khaleed Mustafa       dastan.khalid@komar.edu.iq       E/233
Environmental Engineering Department
       Zmnako Ali Awrahman         zmnako.awrahman@komar.edu.iq 172 E/232
       Ata Omer Salih         ata.salih@komar.edu.iq E/217
        Yaseen Ahmed Hama Amin         yaseen.ahmed@komar.edu.iq  E/201
Computer Engineering Department
      Hemin Fatih Ibrahim       hemin.ibrahim@komar.edu.iq       150       E/248
      Abdulbasit Al-Talabani       abdulbasit.al-talabani@komar.edu.iq       E/249
      Bawar Abid Abdullah       bawar.abid@komar.edu.iq       E/251
      Dilan Faraidoon Ahmed       dilan.faraidoon@komar.edu.iq       E/233
      Azhi Abdulmuhammed Faraj       azhi.faraj@komar.edu.iq       B/203
Medical Laboratory Science
      Heshu Sulaiman Rahman       heshu.sulaiman@komar.edu.iq       171       E/206
      Govand Ali Ahmad       govand.ali@komar.edu.iq       E/204
      Alan Ahmed Mahmood       alan.ahmed@komar.edu.iq       176       E/208
      Salih Ahmed Hama Ali       salih.hama@komar.edu.iq       E/209
      Sirwan muhseen Mohammed       sirwan.muhammed@komar.edu.iq       E/205
      Dlzar Dlshad Ghafour       dlzar.ghafoor@komar.edu.iq       E/213
      Abdulla Ahmed Hama       abdullah.hama@komar.edu.iq       E/205
      Dana Ahmed Abdullah       dana.ahmed@komar.edu.iq       E/209
     Khaleed Mohammed Omer       khalid.omer@komar.edu.iq       E/211
      Shwan Kamal Rachid            @komar.edu.iq       178       B/210
      Mohammed Ibrahim Mohammed       m.ibrahim@komar.edu.iq       E/249
      Shad mohammed Arif       shad.mohamed@komar.edu.iq       E/211
Accounting Department
      Mustaffa Hassan Mohammed       mustafa.hassan@komar.edu.iq       144       B/207
      Hariem Ahmed Abdullah       hariem.abdullah@komar.edu.iq       B/241
      Hataw mohammed Hassan       hataw.muhammad@komar.edu.iq       B/236
      Amanj Muhammed Ahmed       amanj.mohamed@komar.edu.iq       B/241
      Shwan Aras MohammedSaeed       shwan.arass@komar.edu.iq       B/241
      Sarhad Hamza Khdir       sarhad.hamza@komar.edu.iq       B/
      Pshtiwan Osman Saber        pishtiwan.othman@komar.edu.iq       B/202
Business Administration Department
      Niaz Najmadeen Noory       nyaz.najmadeen@komar.edu.iq       141       B/238
      Chra Ghafour Aziz        chra.ghafoor@komar.edu.iq        B/208
     Shahoo Saeed Fathullah       shaho.saeed@komar.edu.iq       128       B/237
     Govaand Najmadeen Anwar       govand.anwar@komar.edu.iq       160       B/210
     Sadek Muhammad Mahammud       sadiq.mohammed@komar.edu.iq       128       B/237
      Arez Mohammed Sidiq       arez.sediq@komar.edu.iq       128       B/237
      Abdulqadir Rahomee Ahmed       qadir.ahmed@komar.edu.iq       119       B/236
      Shakhawan Hars Wadi       shakhawan.hares@komar.edu.iq       128       B/237
      Aree Ali Muhammed       aree.ali@komar.edu.iq       108       E/258
      Mohammed Jalal Mohammed       mohammed.jalal@komar.edu.iq       B/234
      Hawkar Omer Ahmad       hawkar.ahmed@komar.edu.iq       B/234
      Alan Anwar       alan.anwer@komar.edu.iq       B/234
      Walleed Khalid Mohamed        waleed.mohamed@komar.edu.iq       119        B/236
English Language
      Muayad E. Jajo       muayad.jajo@komar.edu.iq       136       B/211
      Azad Hassan Fatah       azad.hasan@komar.edu.iq       B/240
      Keezhan Salar abdulqadir       kizhan.salar@komar.edu.iq       123       B/211
      Jenan Al-Kadhim       jinan.kadhum@komar.edu.iq       B/240
      Shaho Burhan Abdalla       shaho.abdalla@komar.edu.iq       B/240
      Zana Mahmood Hassan       zana.hassan@komar.edu.iq       B/235
CIEP
      Awat Sulaiman Saleem       awat.aziz@@komar.edu.iq       157       B/ 101
      Zanyar Faiq       zanyar.faiq@komar.edu.iq       B/213
      Soran Hamarash       soran.hamarash@komar.edu.iq       137       B/216
      Karzan Aziz Mahmood       karzan.mahmood@komar.edu.iq       121       B/217
      Arezou Hassan Muhammad       arezou.karimi@komar.edu.iq       114       B/212
      Saya Jalal Mohammed       saya.jalal@komar.edu.iq       162       B/215
      Zareena Akhtar Younis       zareena.younis@komar.edu.iq       160       B/209
      Tawar Sarwar Yahia        tawar.rashid@komar.edu.iq
      Kamal Fatih Mohammed         cs.eng.it@gmail.com       E/203
      Awder Raza Aziz         awder.raza@komar.edu.iq       E/239
      Faraidun  Faizulla Aziz        faraidun.aziz@komar.edu.iq       B/218